Kirsty Riddick has won the 2017 MSA ANICC McGrady Insurance Northern Ireland Rally Championship.

The Haugh of Urr co-driver and Jonny Greer clinched the title with second place on the Magherafelt and District Motor Club’s Sunset Stages Rally at Nutts Corner.

The pair had been narrowly ahead in their Citroen DS3 R5, prepared by the Greer family DGM-Sport team, but it started raining ahead of the final stage.

Jonny Greer & Kirsty Riddick in action on the Sunset Stages

Knowing they just needed to finish second to take the title, the pair made sure they got it round, allowing Derek McGarrity and James O’Reilly to win the event.

However, the runners-up spot gave Greer and Riddick the title by a single point over their rivals.

…rest of the post