No fewer than 14 aspirants on the platforms of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) are struggling to succeed Osun State Governor Rauf Aregbesola whose tenure expires next year. Correspondent ADESOJI ADENIYI writes on the succession battle.

THE All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) are warming up for next year’s governorship election in Osun State. Many aspirants for the exalted seat have signified their intentions on the platform of the two parties. Though very few of them are bold enough to set up structures in support of their ambitions they have really commenced underground moves in support of the actualisation of their dreams.

Aspirants itching to succeed Governor Rauf Aregbesola include his Chief of Staff; Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola, the Secretary to the State Government (SSG); Alhaji Moshood Adeoti, the state Commissioner for Finance;

Mr. Bola Oyebamiji, the Speaker of the state House of Assembly; Hon. Najeem Salam, the lawmaker, representing Ejigbo/Iwo/Ola-Oluwa federal constituency in the House of Representatives; Hon. Mojeed Alabi, the deputy speaker in the House of Representatives; Hon. Lasun Yusuf, representing the Orolu/Irepodun/Osogbo/Oroluunda Federal Constituency.

Others are the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice; Dr. Ajibola Basiru, a Lagos-based legal practioner; Dr. Rasheed Adegoke, and the chairman of the Osun State Local Government Commission; Mr. Peter Babalola. The…

…rest of the post