SHARE


Scott Sinclair has come in for heavy criticism for going down under minimal contact in the Betfred Cup Final on Sunday.

The slightest touch from Motherwell’s Cedric Kipre was enough for the referee to point to the spot and give the defender his marching orders.

Seconds later, Celtic were out of sight at 2-0 and had one hand on their first trophy of the season.

And, interestingly, referee Craig Thomson reportedly put a lot of faith in Sinclair’s honesty before the crucial penalty was taken and converted by Moussa Dembele.

“I think the referee even asked Scott Sinclair has he dived, which is a bit strange,” Motherwell ‘keeper Trevor Carson revealed after the game.

“It is just incredible. He is adamant he didn’t dive, and maybe when he is going so fast it doesn’t take much for him to go over.

“He is a clever player and I think the referee has bought it. It is incredible the referee spoke to him.

“I asked Scott himself because I was convinced he had dived. There is nothing in it, but I’m not going to call Scott a cheat.”

Sinclair, meanwhile, has denied the accusations of simulation.

The 28-year-old winger has maintained that he was pulled back by Kipre and was well within his rights to go down.

“I have got through and felt some contact,” Sinclair said.

“I felt he pulled me back, and I’ve gone down. It was definitely a pen. I’ve no qualms about that.

“Was it harsh on him to be sent off? That’s up to the referee. If he didn’t pull me, then I think I’m through…



…rest of the post