The BBC have announced the contenders for the 2017 Sports Personality of the Year award.

The award will be given out on Sunday, December 17 at the Echo Arena in Liverpool, and the 12 contenders, who will be put forward for a public vote, are:

Elise Christie – Short Track Speed Skating

Mo Farah – Athletics

Chris Froome – Cycling

Lewis Hamilton – F1

Anthony Joshua – Boxing

Harry Kane – Football

Johanna Konta – Tennis

Jonnie Peacock – Para-athletics

Adam Peaty – Swimming

Jonathan Rea – Motorcycling

Anya Shrubsole – Cricket

Bianca Walkden – Taekwondo

Andy Murray, who has won the award in three of the last four years, has not been nominated.

Anthony Joshua could be the early favourite thanks to his stunning victory over Vladmir Klitschko back in April.

Lewis Hamilton, who won the award in 2014, may also be a contender for the prize after becoming F1 champion for the fourth time this year.

Watch Bill Browder tell his extraordinary story of how he became Vladimir Putin’s No1 enemy on Unfiltered

…rest of the post